Skip to content

Tim Nassau – Business Cards

September 16, 2009

I apologize in advance for the large number of images I’m about to post… I got a little carried away here because once I had an initial design, it was very easy to make slight variations on it.

The basic idea for my design was inspired by the Belgian painter James Ensor’s business card:

Card Ensor

I love the stark black and white colors, the minimal amount of information (to be fair he was born when email and phones didn’t exist, but even his address is hard to read, and is definitely not as important as the name), and the grim motif of death. Since I don’t (yet) consider “artist-painter” to be my profession, I went even more bare bones:

Business Card 1

And then tried a minor adjustment:Business Card 2

Though I’m partial to the minimalism above, I wanted to get a little more across, so I wrote a little, slightly absurd, poem. What I’ve ended up with is something of an anti-business card. The point of BCs is usually to give some useful information to their bearers, but instead they would simply get a name (if they can read it) and a nonsensical poem, presumably leaving them even more confused and hopefully encouraging them to want to know me better, rather than learning about me from a piece of paper:Business Card 3

Then I threw in some images… Just for the record, the robot is from a t-shirt designed by the (amazing) graphic novelist Chris Ware which is for sale at shirt.woot.com which was mentioned below by Arceli.Business Card 4

And again:Business Card 5Sorry once more for the length of this post… This is probably more than anyone ever wanted to know about my creative process in designing business card.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. charisloke permalink
    September 16, 2009 9:39 pm

    Awesome job, Tim!

  2. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 16, 2009 11:40 pm

    I LIKE THIS ! -julie

Leave a Reply

