Skip to content

Greg Young – Blog Header

September 20, 2009

Inspired by one of the slides we saw on the first day of class, I wanted to put a modern twist on a classic piece. I feel like this embodies one of the goals of the class: to offer something original while still drawing influence from existing styles and principles.

Greg's Blog Header

10 Comments leave one →
  1. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 21, 2009 12:17 am

    I love this! Both eye catching and technically advanced. I love the details of long red nails and short blue nails. Also, god and man wearing the same bracelet. Word!

    • Emma permalink
      September 21, 2009 3:29 am

      just putting my name on my comment?

  2. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 21, 2009 1:22 am

    Great design! I completely agree with the above post. Also, the colours are extremely well-matched. I like the unconventional twist-god and man, two very masculine images in the original piece, both wearing nailpolish.
    -Amanda

  3. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 21, 2009 1:58 am

    I’d love to learn how you executed this technically. Clever! -leila

  4. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 21, 2009 10:12 pm

    I’ve got to vote for this as well! very clever and I love the nail colors and how you bring that into the title of the blog. The bracelets add a nice touch, haha! -Johanna

  5. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 22, 2009 1:04 am

    I have to agree with the other comments.
    I love the creativity in this piece!
    Very good job, Greg
    -Rocio Bravo

  6. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 22, 2009 11:31 am

    good job man reminds me of the Duchamp lhooq but with great artistry and design that set it apart from being just a simple statement or parody. this gets my vote for sure. -Michael

  7. brownfoundations permalink
    September 22, 2009 2:35 pm

    this is so creative, humorous, and….necessary

    eve

  8. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 22, 2009 3:23 pm

    I absolutely love this!! There are so many wonderful things about it plus it’s funny. 🙂 –Araceli

  9. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 23, 2009 4:44 am

    I vote for this too! It’s simple, yet elegant, perfectly executed, and hilarious. A perfect melding of old tradition and new ideas that really embodies this class for me. -Tim

Leave a Reply

