Skip to content

Emma Whitford: Header and T-Shirt Mockup

September 21, 2009

My header incorporates a picture I took of bricks behind the new mural on the Thayer Street CVS. I wanted to use real bricks, and was excited to stumble across these vibrant ones. The text and lines are pretty shoddy, but I hope that reflects the fact that we’re in this class to construct a foundation. Everybody has to start somewhere, right?

Blog Banner

Below is my mockup for a t-shirt. I may totally switch gears from this, but I’ve been playing around with images of catfish. I spent a month in rural Alabama this summer, in a region that is entirely economically dependent on the catfish industry. It’s a vicious cycle, because catfish is lucrative for the state, but the fish plants can’t provide lucrative jobs to workers. I want to make a sinister play on the classic song “Stars Fell on Alabama,” possibly suggesting that Alabama is being crushed by the catfish. The phrase “Stars Fell on Alabama” also appears on all of the state license plates in the state. I’m going to have to make adjustments in terms of actual dimensions for the final design.

t-shirt mockup

One Comment leave one →
  1. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 21, 2009 1:53 am

    Emma,
    I love that you used a photo of the CVS wall – I kept staring at the image to think of where I’d seen it before. I also like the arrangement of the letters in brick. Like your business card, the header seems to have a really distinctive style and color scheme. -leila

Leave a Reply

