Skip to content

EVE -Header

September 21, 2009

Playing with idea of “foundation” …here the mountains and sky below support the land and water above. I put  a photograph I took of land/sea above another image I captured of mountains/sky to challenge my/our conceptions of “foundation.” Is a single conception of artistic foundation necessary for all subsequent creations? Is there,  or should there be, “right” kind of foundation for everyone? I am challenging my own idea of foundation by inverting the sky and earth. Human eyes stare back at the viewer probing the viewer to develop her/his own notion of foundation. The garbage can serves for throwing away/retrieving ideas (I have enjoyed using so-called “garbage” in creating art).

One Comment leave one →
  1. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 22, 2009 1:52 am

    I like this one because of the positioning of each of the elements, especially in the way the fence/ground seems to cut the image into two halves. I also think the eyes are a really cool addition.

Leave a Reply

