Skip to content

Tim Nassau: “I like words…”

September 21, 2009

…so my t-shirt design and blog header have something to do with them.

For the blog, I thought it might be fun to reinterpret Brownfoundations not as Brown foundations, but brown found -ations, as in words that end with ation. I would have loved to wander around Providence looking for found words (which I suppose is somewhat tantamount to found art) to use, but in the interest of time I did my exploring on google, a sort of 21st century stroll if you will (perhaps someone should rewrite “Ulysses” as a one day trek through the interweb. They could call it “i ❤ homer, lol”). Here’s what I came up with:

Blog

For my t-shirt I have 2 designs:

T Shirt 5

The sketch was my first t-shirt idea, and I decided to amp up the political connotations of the flag by placing it on the Capitol (if anyone’s interests I got “Nobody’s Home” from a book of the same title by Dubravka Eugresic). A lot of political shirts tend to lean towards some form of clear cut ideology (for example, all the Obama shirts from last year), so I wanted to make something a little more far reaching and ambiguous (I think ambiguity is a huge part of the art that appeals to me.)

And #2:

T Shirt 3For some reason I find the idea of mimes doing sign language incredibly amusing. The idea of mutes appropriating the language and symbols of other people who talk without speaking also resonates with themes of language and communication. Semaphore flags were easier to do, plus they create a more interesting color contrast. I’m still hesitant about working outside of black and white so this was an easy way to add some life. Bonus points for anyone who finds out what they’re saying… I promise it’s not gibberish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 22, 2009 12:19 pm

    Really cleaver! It’s busy without being at all messy. I love the signs, and the idea of heading the blog with something other than its title. –Emma

  2. brownfoundations permalink
    September 22, 2009 2:33 pm

    i’m a fan. i really enjoy the interplay between “found” words as a foundation for images…
    eve

  3. brownfoundations permalink*
    September 23, 2009 2:10 am

    This is a great way to think of the header. I like the combination of signs.
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

