Skip to content

News: Struggling Museum Now Allowing Patrons To Touch Paintings

October 5, 2009

“At first it just looked like a picture of a bunch of lily pads, but then I started scraping at it with my pocket knife and the whole painting just sort of spoke to me,” Schmidt said. “For the first time, I finally understand what Monet was trying to get across in her work.”

Met officials feel that a few smudged or punctured OKeeffes are a small price to pay for renewed interest in the arts.

Met officials feel that a few smudged or punctured O'Keeffes are a small price to pay for renewed interest in the arts.

It’s a satirical piece all right, but what if this were really to happen?

-Charis
3 Comments leave one →
  1. brownfoundations permalink*
    October 6, 2009 9:54 pm

    I nearly had a heart attack when I read the quote. Then I realized it was fake haha. If that were ever to happen then art would be more like watching an event….it would have an end. once the piece is destroyed it no longer is what the artist intended it to be.

    There is an artist…i forget his name. He does portraits on walls of buildings with charcoal. Knowing that in a couple of week’s time, wind and rain will erase the image. If it is the artist’s intent then that’s fine….but if the museum chooses what pieces people can touch then I don’t think it’s right. -Johanna

  2. brownfoundations permalink*
    October 7, 2009 5:14 am

    That’s a really interesting take on the piece! I originally liked the news because it took phrases normally used when people talk about art – “You can’t grasp the brilliance of a great painting just by looking at it…to truly appreciate fine art, you need to be able to run your fingers over its surface and explore its range of textures…spoke to me…it takes more than curating exhibits that bring meaning and context to our complex cultural heritage, more than preserving works of art that capture the spirit of transcendence unique to humankind,” and twisted the meaning of those words in context, showing how cliche we can get when speaking about ‘art’. And how hollow words can be.

    It seems to me that most artists who choose to make art in/on public spaces do so while relinquishing control over what could happen to their work, which I think is incredibly magnanimous and brave.

    -Charis

    • brownfoundations permalink*
      October 8, 2009 1:58 pm

      Yeah I completely agree about how we speak about art.
      And also agree that it takes so much courage to make something that will disappear at some point.
      I mean….I still have a portfolio full of my art from HS and would’ve still had my kindergarten art if I had known how to file things when I was 5 yers old. haha -Johanna

Leave a Reply

